How do we know God created the earth?

If anyone tells you, “This is how the world began”, you look at them and ask with respect, “Were you there?”

The fact of the matter is that no one was there to tell us how the earth started for sure. Many people have been convinced by facts, science, reason, and faith on how the world began, but being convinced of something does not make it true. The truth is, we DON’T KNOW. Even with years of research and armies of scientists, and rooms of calculating computers we can only submit a best guess.

That being said, the Bible does have a chapter that tells the story of creation. Moses is the author of the book of Genesis. It is believed that Moses wrote this book between 1550bc and 1200bc. Historians are uncertain as to how long after creation this book was written, but we can be sure that even Moses wasn’t there.

Most of the things that Moses wrote down were part of what historians call oral tradition. And at the time, oral tradition was nothing to mess with. It is very probable that the story of creation was written down exactly as it was told from Adam himself. However, even if creation happened exactly as Adam told, by his own admission, even HE was not there when everything was created.

I’m telling you all this because this question stems from a need to prove God exists. It has been my experience that trying to prove God exists gets in the way of acting like Jesus:

I was a junior in High School. My science teacher, Mr. F, began to teach us about the Big Bang theory. He began to lead into how we all evolved from ooze from some volcano, and I just had it. I began to defend creationism. I began to tell him all the reasons the Big Bang theory and evolution could not be correct. I began to recite facts and statistics and research that support creationism, all the while he was interrupting and protesting. I felt that I was doing a good job in defending my faith. I glanced around the room and saw heads nodding and people taking notes on some of my comments. I felt good. I was winning. I was right.

I was asked to see Mr. F after school.

When I walked into his room, the room was full of light pouring in from the windows. There was so much light, that Mr. F has shut off the lights. He was in the corner on his computer looking at pictures from the Hubble Telescope. I took off my backpack and sat down at a desk close to him. He looked up at me and smiled, which took me by surprise. He took his thick glasses off and stood behind the large black marbled top counter that took up the entire front of his science room. He looked at me for a second, then started with,

“Sounds like you’ve been doing some research on this topic.”

“Yes”, I said.

“Do you think that maybe I’ve been doing some too?”

“Yes.”

“Sounds like you’ve had a few classes on the subject as well.”

“Yes, sir.”

“Don’t you think that I’ve taken a few classes as well to become a teacher?”

“Yes.”

“Would you love for me to listen to your ideas and thoughts and believe what you are saying?”

“Yes, very much.”

“And do you think that I would like any less from you?”

“No, probably not.”

“Then we are equal.  Bink (he always called me Bink for some reason. I think it was his term of endearment for me), I am more than willing to talk to you about this, but we need to talk about this with respect, with no expectations, and from the standpoint that neither of us KNOW. Are you willing to do that with me?”

“Yes, sir.” I replied

Over the next few weeks of staying after school to talk to this professor, I learned a lot. I learned that Mr. F was an astronomer. He even discovered a few stars, comets and even owned property on the moon. His understanding of the universe was amazing. He showed me pictures from satellites that have never been published. He taught me how taking pictures in space works, and why infrared light is better for accuracy rather than regular light. He taught me how we use what we know of light to map the universe. He was incredibly smart. I began to wonder how someone so smart would believe in evolution, or the Big Bang. He began to tell me how he was raised catholic, but learning all these things about space began to raise questions. The church refused to answer or even acknowledge his questions. He became so upset and hurt that he eventually left the church and raised his children to not believe in God.

Suddenly I realized that I had become part of the problem. I was part of the wall that kept Mr. F on the other side. All my arguing, and persuading, and fact listing got in the way of me seeing the big picture. Jesus didn’t come to this earth for me to be right. Jesus didn’t die so that I could go on some righteous crusade to convert everyone to creationism, He died for Mr. F. I was trying so hard to justify what I believed in, but what was really at stake here was a person’s soul.

I never convinced Mr. F to believe in creationism, but I did change his mind about Christians. We even got to a point in our conversations where we prayed for guidance and wisdom. He even came up with and entertained the idea that God created the Big Bang. I have no idea where he is today, but I still pray for him and I hope we will be united in Heaven someday.

The point to all of this is that God does not need you to defend Him. I get so mad when I hear about people teaching young people how to “defend their faith”, because God does not need you to defend Him, and if He does, then He is not God. God does need us to show others who He is. More than being right, God is loving, caring, peaceful, compassionate, and welcoming.

The best way to prove God exists is to act like Jesus.

One thought on “How do we know God created the earth?

Leave a Reply

